Political parties contending to lead SA sign IEC code of conduct

All political parties vying for leadership of the country signed the Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) code of conduct on Wednesday.

The Electoral Act required parties contesting in this year’s national and provincial elections to participate in this pledge ceremony. In it the representatives of each political organisation publicly announced their commitment to adhere to the IEC code of conduct.

So far the IEC has 262 parties registered in their records. A conclusive list consisting of the parties that met the requirements in order to participate in the elections was released after Wednesday’s ceremony.

Voters will have 48 parties to choose from on Election Day which is set for 8 May 2019. This number has increased by 19 parties since the last general elections in 2014.

Over 26 million South Africans registered to vote this year.